IL Med Soc.png

The Illinois State Medical Society is a professional organization that represents and unifies its physician members as they practice the science and art of medicine. The Society represents the interests of member physicians, advocates for patients and promotes the doctor/patient relationship, the ethical practice of medicine, and the betterment of the public health.

Board and Officers

Dawn Jeffries, President
President Elect – Vacant
Benilda Hizon, Vice Present – Membership
Karen Stephenson, Vice President – Health Promotions
Anne Marie Hayes, Vice President – Strategic Planning
Beth Frigy, Recording Secretary
Debi Brownstone, Corresponding Secretary
Karen Jasper, Treasurer  

Regional Directors

Carla Tully, Northern
Dawn Dinh, Central
Carol Gapsis, Southern


Thomas M. Anderson, Immediate Past President


Evelyn Calhoun
Specialist, Education & Accreditation